Once Upon a Snowy October Weekend…

Much to our dismay, the weathermen were right. Over Saturday night and into Sunday morning we got about 20 inches of heavy wet snow…

We couldn’t get out Sunday morning for church, so I lit a great fire in the fire place and set about scouring the internet for the pattern I had started 6 years ago.  No dice. After an hour of searching I gave up, and decided to frog the gray sweater. My wonderful husband ripped it all out for me while I looked far and wide for a sweater pattern. After about another hour of searching I found great pattern on knitty. So I swatched it up. Nope. The gauge was off, and I didn’t have the next size down in a circular needle. So I went off in search again. Finally, around 2pm, I said heck with it, returned to the knitty pattern and cast on one size down from what I normally would have used. All I wanted to do was knit my entire snow day away in front of the fireplace.

By the time we went to bed, this is what I had gotten done…

I cast on Sirdar Denim Chunky in a beautiful tweed heather gray on to size 11 needles. I am planning on making the sleeves full length rather than the 3/4 version featured in the pattern, and also making the body length 6″ longer. This is a simple, fast project. If I had just started it in the morning I probably would have had the body done by bedtime. O well. My plan is to knit until the kids come home from school today.

This week I will get a bunch of extra knitting time, as Aidan has Middle School Basketball tryouts on Weds, Thurs, AND Fri. That’s a lot of sitting on the bleachers for this Mama, which translates to a lot of knitting time.

I would love to have this sweater off the needles and on my body for church next Sunday… We’ll see.

So, what did you do with your weekend?

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Karen
    Nov 01, 2011 @ 06:55:52

    Still am in shock at all the snow you guys got! But what a wonderful way to make the day glorious with a fire in the fireplace and yarn on the needles. Sounds perfect. Keep us up to date on those projects, Marcy – they’re wonderful. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Marcaritaville's Blog

Welcome to my crazy life!

andresueknits.wordpress.com/

Hand Painted Sock Blanks

Seasonsgirl

For seasons of life, the changing seasons, and the seasoning we all love to cook with.

ChocolatesandRaspberries

Life inspired by Style, Travel and Friends.

towertales

Just another WordPress.com site

rebuildtheruins

Just another WordPress.com site

knittingwithoutanet

Knit, Crochet, Sew...and more!

The TygerLily

Exploring Texture and Design, One Day at a Time

Cheryl Marie Knits

. . .Shoot for the Moon! Even if you miss you will land among the Stars!!!

Kaulinsmom's Blog

Just another mom making her mark on the world.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A PAPERBACK SNACK

Remembering books I've read, and books to read!

Transitions

what's next?

