Sacrifice, Decisions and Rewards

I was diagnosed with Crohn’s Disease about 10 years ago. The time between that day and now has been a rollercoaster of good times and bad. But the one constant was that my disease, or more accurately the treatment of my disease, has controlled what I can and can’t do. Back in June I finally said to hell with that plan. I called my cousin, who is a naturopath, and after a series of tests we decided on a plan. That plan included some very strict diet changes. HUGE sacrifices, which included no sugar, no alcohol, no yeast, no vinegar. To say it was difficult is an understatement. Fresh cukes from the garden WITHOUT vinegar? Come on!

For the past 8 years, I have been going up to Lebanon, NH every month for my Remicade infusion. Today, I was able to go to my LAST infusion. This is not saying that my disease is gone. I spent quite a bit of time going back and forth to make the decision to go a new route with my treatment. I will now be taking control of my treatments by changing drugs to an at-home injectable. With my Crohn’s in remission, I am very confident in this decision.

I left my infusion today and decided to give myself a reward that I would have to memorialize this day that will change my path forever. I stopped at a fabulous hole-in-the-wall bead shop called Gemstar and bought myself some real beauties to create a few pieces that I will keep forever.

 

 

I have some turquoise, some fabulous pearls, fiesta jade, and bone.

Now, I am not in denial – I know there will come a time when I go back into a flare, but for right now, this feels pretty good, and I will take it! I cannot say Thank you enough to everyone who has helped me, taken care of me and my family, and prayed for me over the years.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maria Jordan
    Nov 11, 2011 @ 18:22:33

    So happy for you Marcy, praying all stays well.

    Reply

  2. marcaritaville
    Nov 11, 2011 @ 21:08:28

    Thank you, Maria – It is prayers like yours that got me to this point. And it is His strength that will keep me through whatever is to come.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Marcaritaville's Blog

Welcome to my crazy life!

Seasonsgirl

For seasons of life, the changing seasons, and the seasoning we all love to cook with.

ChocolatesandRaspberries

Life inspired by Style, Travel and Friends.

towertales

Just another WordPress.com site

rebuildtheruins

Just another WordPress.com site

knittingwithoutanet

Knit, Crochet, Sew...and more!

The TygerLily

Exploring Texture and Design, One Day at a Time

Cheryl Marie Knits

. . .Shoot for the Moon! Even if you miss you will land among the Stars!!!

Kaulinsmom's Blog

Just another mom making her mark on the world.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A PAPERBACK SNACK

Remembering books I've read, and books to read!

Transitions

what's next?

