Anatomy of my life… or, What is housekeeping?

It is absolutely no secret that I love to be a mom. I love to be a wife. I love being crafty. I love cooking. I love doing just about anything that involves watching something on a big screen (y’all are shocked, I know). And, if you know me, it is absolutely NO SURPRISE that I DO NOT LOVE cleaning. I mean, I really want to. I want to be the kind of wife and mother that everyone talks about, whose family comes home to that lemon pine scent and clean floors and counters. I want my husband to go down to the bedroom and NOT see all my clothes piled high on the floor. But, again, y’all know me, and you ALL know… this is just NOT my skill set.

 

Now, I don’t want you to be totally grossed out. My house isn’t “dirty”, it’s just cluttered, filled to the brim with stuff, and things, and what-nots. And kids. And shoes… Dear Lord in Heaven, where on earth did all these shoes come from? and the clothes???? really? all Kevin does is laundry (That’s right, ladies… I said KEVIN!  HE does the best laundry. Be jealous, be very jealous!).

Anyways, I really need to get on figuring out this housekeeping thing. Enter The Time-Warp Wife… (  http://www.time-warp-wife.blogspot.com/ )… I just found this blog. What an incredibly inspiring blog. She really speaks to my heart and makes such easy connections between life and gospel. Very inspiring.

Back to cleaning… OK, so I was browsing about her blog and reading about being your husbands help-mate, really providing what he needs at home so that he can be relaxed and feel loved. Real Proverbs 31 Woman stuff here. The woman we all aspire to be.

She also has a tab with a cleaning schedule. Today says to clean and mop the floors. I’m all “oh, I’m just gonna jump right in and do this!” then I looked around and was like “um… where’s my floor?” lol.

So, today I will start with cleaning up the stuff on the floors. I figure, if the stuff is all over the floor it can’t really be all that dirty underneath, right?

*** I have some fabulous messy house pictures that should be in here, but my USB driver doesn’t want to play nicey nice with my computer brain, so you will just have to imagine it. ***

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Karen
    Mar 16, 2012 @ 20:09:05

    Yep, we all strive to be that Proverbs 31 woman. I don’t let Bill do our laundry after a fiasco a few years back when he tried and ruined a lot of my clothes. 🙂 But he does so many other things over-the-top. I can see my floor, sort of. The furniture is covered with dust so don’t come over anytime soon and write your name and date in it. I WILL find you. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Cleaninup Kate
    Mar 17, 2012 @ 20:34:03

    I love your comment “um… where’s my floor?”. That’s exactly how I feel. I’ve got 2 kids (3 and 8 months) and 2 large dogs. It’s spring and the dogs are tracking in mud from outside and I can feel the grit on our woodfloors. And I can see the hair flying around everywhere. But there are so many toys, books, forts made from sheets and chairs, and craft supplies lying around that the though of cleaning the floor is daunting. All that tidying before the actual cleaning. And I’ll add my little plug here that I SELL cleaning supplies! Sometimes I feel like such a failure. But then I think “hey, I had a great day with the kids today. We made a cool craft. We spent hours outside. We played with flashlights in the fort. Who gives a hoot about the floor. I can clean that later”. So right after I post this comment, I’ll be picking up the toys and I’ll mop tomorrow!

    Reply

    • marcaritaville
      Mar 18, 2012 @ 09:03:52

      Kate – I totally get it. I have three kids, they are older, but we are always on the run. Have you checked out the new blog I linked to (well, it;s not new, just new to me)? She has this cleaning schedule, and I have just started it, and it helps to give me a direction. I have also just gotten a copy of her eBook, and it looks very promising. I will keep you posted on it, as I will be writing a review of it here in Marcaritaville.

      p.s. I hope your mopping went well.

      Reply

      • Cleaninup Kate
        Mar 18, 2012 @ 09:30:23

        Mopping hasn’t happened yet ;o( Got up this morning and found we had no granola left so the 3 year old and I made that – which made a new mess all over the floor.

        I’ll definitely check the cleaning schedule. I have a bit of a schedule already (mainly it’s clean the bathroom on Monday and then see what happens the rest of the week hee hee). We live in a 140 year old house and are in a constant state of renovations so the cleaning (dusting in particular) seems almost ridiculous.

      • Cleaninup Kate
        Mar 18, 2012 @ 09:41:31

        Just breezes through the cleaning schedule link. And I see I shouldn’t be cleaning on Sunday. GREAT! I’m heading out to the garden.

        It’s a good schedule – I see I’ve already started it with my Monday is Bathroom cleaning day. We don’t have any commercial cleaning solutions in our house because I wanted a safe house for the kids. I find good microfiber works better than anything else (I SWEAR by e-cloth – http://eclothusa.com/) and doesn’t have the waste of paper towel. We’ve been “cleaner” free for 3 years and it’s the best decision I’ve ever made.

        Thanks for the link! Enjoy your Sunday.

Leave a Reply

Marcaritaville's Blog

Welcome to my crazy life!

andresueknits.wordpress.com/

Hand Painted Sock Blanks

Seasonsgirl

For seasons of life, the changing seasons, and the seasoning we all love to cook with.

ChocolatesandRaspberries

Life inspired by Style, Travel and Friends.

towertales

Just another WordPress.com site

rebuildtheruins

Just another WordPress.com site

knittingwithoutanet

Knit, Crochet, Sew...and more!

The TygerLily

Exploring Texture and Design, One Day at a Time

Cheryl Marie Knits

. . .Shoot for the Moon! Even if you miss you will land among the Stars!!!

Kaulinsmom's Blog

Just another mom making her mark on the world.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A PAPERBACK SNACK

Remembering books I've read, and books to read!

Transitions

what's next?

