Knit-A-Long Caftan

Ok, so… who is joining me here in the knit a long? How are you doing? Has real life knocked you around a little? Ya, me, too. With a sick girl all last week, I got very little knitting done. BUT… I did get to the end of the side gussets. After Maddy started to feel better, I figured I would go gangbusters on the back, but I just couldn’t get in to it. Last night I finally figured out why – the knitting was really hurting my left hand, wrist and arm. I had bought new needles for the project, and the shape was NOT working with my knitting style. Has that ever happened to you? First time for me. So, obviously I couldn’t have that. After I dropped kids today I trotted myself right over to my local yarn shop, The Fiber Studio, and picked up a great new pair of needles. I got a pair of Hiya Hiya’s. I have never bought a pair, and am really happy with them. They are inexpensive, and each set of needles comes with a little free extra in the package. Some have stitch markers in them, mine came with a cable needle in a bright pink! SWEET! I love me some free stuff!

Anyways… After I got the new needles I was off to the races and knit about 3 inches in no time at all. Problem Solved! And good thing, too, as I am about to do a knitting marathon with my friend Cheryl over at Cheryl Marie Knits. What is a knitting Marathon? Well – it is 26.2 hours of knitting spread over 2 days. And April’s marathon will be happening on April 26 and 27. You can knit from home, find friends to knit with, spend time knitting at your local yarn shop, at the park, at McDonalds… Wherever! Just pick up those needles and KNIT! I will be posting throughout the 2 days with updates and pictures on my progress, if you are knitting, keep me updated on your progress… While you’re at it, go check out Cheryl and follow her blog so you can keep up with her progress as well. I’ll be back later this week to fill you in on the “rules” and suggestions for a successful marathon.

OK, back to the Caftan knit-a-long… If you are knitting along, this week we will be knitting up to the bind off for the arm shaping. I am planning on that being done for next Tuesday. Questions? Let me know!

Oooooh – can I just tell you good the burgers on the grill were last night? sooooo juicy! The trick (don’t tell the calorie police)… I add some heavy cream to help bind them! YUM!

Enjoy what remains of your Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

Marcaritaville's Blog

Welcome to my crazy life!

Seasonsgirl

For seasons of life, the changing seasons, and the seasoning we all love to cook with.

ChocolatesandRaspberries

Life inspired by Style, Travel and Friends.

towertales

Just another WordPress.com site

rebuildtheruins

Just another WordPress.com site

knittingwithoutanet

Knit, Crochet, Sew...and more!

The TygerLily

Exploring Texture and Design, One Day at a Time

Cheryl Marie Knits

. . .Shoot for the Moon! Even if you miss you will land among the Stars!!!

Kaulinsmom's Blog

Just another mom making her mark on the world.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A PAPERBACK SNACK

Remembering books I've read, and books to read!

Transitions

what's next?

