Frugal Friday

OK, so apparently this is alliterations week. I didn’t even do it on purpose. Funny.

I am just finishing my first week of my challenge. And I have learned somethings. First, I spend a bunch of money on things that are just habits. For example, I took my daughter to her ortho appointment. I am supposed to get my Dunkins on the way so I can drink it while she is in getting metal wires and brackets adjusted. After I picked up the oldest, I told myself “no coffee”. I was fine, driving along, heading up the highway. I concentrated hard as I went by exit 2, knowing I was NOT getting my pumpkin spice. Halfway between exits 2 and 3, I panicked. I had forgotten to get my coffee. Quickly my in-head GPS was rerouting me to get to Dunkins. I went over into the exit lane, and I had to mentally slap myself. NO COFFEE! LEt me tell you – three times! I did this three times!

Each day I had to have those same conversations with myself. It was really a week of an awakening. I am realizing very quickly just how much money I leak. And I use the word LEAK for a reason. I don’t buy big things. It is a cup of coffee, a diet coke at McDonalds, a new circular needle because I am knitting my socks, and the one I have is MIA, the trip to my local yarn shop. All of these things are so small I don’t even notice them. Until I check my bank account and I have literally squandered away $50-$60 on NOTHING! It is both a good and bad feeling. It feels good that I have realized this. It feels really bad when I think about all of these weeks multiplied by $30, $40 even $50 each week on nothing.

In the interest of total transparency during my month-long challenge – I am excited to share that I have only spent $43 this week out of my available $150. I only purchased groceries. And, I used coupons and really planned well. I was able to get over $200 in groceries for that $43, accomplishing my best savings yet over 80%!

 

As a side note – I know I had told y’all about my Biggest Loser Challenge – Today was weigh in day, and I have lost a total of 12 pounds (6.5%)  in 4 weeks. I think I am well on my way to meeting my goal for our cruise.

Have a fabulous weekend, and again, if you are joining me in this challenge please keep us posted so we can cheer you on as well.

Leave a Reply

Marcaritaville's Blog

Welcome to my crazy life!

Seasonsgirl

For seasons of life, the changing seasons, and the seasoning we all love to cook with.

ChocolatesandRaspberries

Life inspired by Style, Travel and Friends.

towertales

Just another WordPress.com site

rebuildtheruins

Just another WordPress.com site

knittingwithoutanet

Knit, Crochet, Sew...and more!

The TygerLily

Exploring Texture and Design, One Day at a Time

Cheryl Marie Knits

. . .Shoot for the Moon! Even if you miss you will land among the Stars!!!

Kaulinsmom's Blog

Just another mom making her mark on the world.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

A PAPERBACK SNACK

Remembering books I've read, and books to read!

Transitions

what's next?

